InformationAll PPLD facilities will be closed on Monday, September 1, for Labor Day.

Family Place Libraries

PPLD is now hosting the Family Place Initiative at our Library 21c and Fountain libraries because of generous funding from the combined efforts of an Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) grant and PPLD!

Family Place Libraries are a network of children's librarians nationwide who believe that literacy begins at birth, and that libraries can help build healthy communities by nourishing healthy families. The Family Place Libraries network currently includes more than 300 sites in 23 states and continues to grow.

Family Place areas are safe, fun environments where you and your young child can read, play, and learn. These specially-designed spaces feature materials for children and parents including board books, picture books, toys, puzzles, blocks, and drawing stations, all creating opportunities for little ones to explore. As your child's first and most important teacher, these activities will help you build your child's early literacy skills.

Pikes Peak Library District’s Family Place Libraries will also offer five-week workshop series, covering early literacy, music, nutrition, child development and speech and language development through playing with your child.

The next five-week Family Place Library series will begin in August at Library 21c and in September at Fountain, and is specifically designed for parents and their children ages 1 - 3. Play with toys and speak with library staff and community resource professionals on a different topic each week.

Registration is required. To register for the Library 21c sessions, click here or call (719) 884-9800 x6310; To register for the Fountain Library sessions, click here or call (719) 382-5347.

Early Literacy Specialists

Come together to play, interact with other families, and ask the Community Resource Specialist any questions on early literacy.

  • Library 21c: Tuesday, August 5, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
  • Library 21c: Wednesday, August 6, 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
  • Fountain: Tuesday, September 16, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
  • Fountain: Wednesday, September 17, 9:00 - 10:30 a.m.

Speech Pathologist

Come together to play, interact with other families, and ask the Community Resource Specialist any questions on speech. This is an informal event so, the CRS will not be able to give any specific diagnosis or details on your children.

  • Library 21c: Tuesday, August 12, 6:00-7:30 p.m.
  • Library 21c: Wednesday, August 13, 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
  • Fountain: Tuesday, September 23, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
  • Fountain: Wednesday, September 24, 9:00 - 10:30 a.m.

Child Development

Come together to play, interact with other families, and ask the Community Resource Specialist any questions on Child Development. This is an informal event so, the CRS will not be able to give any specific diagnosis or details on your children.

  • Library 21c: Tuesday, August 19, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
  • Library 21c: Wednesday, August 20, 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
  • Fountain: Tuesday, September 30, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
  • Fountain: Wednesday, October 1, 9:00 - 10:30 a.m.

Nutrition

Come together to play, interact with other families, and ask the Community Resource Specialist any questions on Nutrition.

  • Library 21c: Tuesday, August 26, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
  • Library 21c: Wednesday, August 27, 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
  • Fountain: Tuesday, October 7, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
  • Fountain: Wednesday, October 8, 9:00 - 10:30 a.m.

Song and Movement

Come together to play, interact with other families, and ask the Community Resource Specialist any questions.

  • Library 21c: Tuesday, September 2, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
  • Library 21c: Wednesday, September 3, 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
  • Fountain: Tuesday, October 14, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.
  • Fountain: Wednesday, October 15, 9:00 - 10:30 a.m.