InformationAll PPLD facilities will be closed on Sunday, April 20. Happy Easter!

Magazines / Media / Newspapers

19th Century U.S. Newspapers

Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. (This database is supported by the Pikes Peak Genealogical Society.)

Gale

A to Z

Looking for the full text of a magazine article? Search A to Z by magazine title to see if the full text is included in one of our databases, then click on the link to find the article.

Serial Solutions

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier

Contains full text for more than 2,000 journals, including more than 1,550 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study.

Tutorials:

Basic Search
http://support.ebsco.com/uploads/CustSupport/UserDocumentation/EN_BscSrc...

Advanced Search
http://support.ebsco.com/uploads/CustSupport/UserDocumentation/EN_AdvSrc...

Ebsco

All-In-One Search

Search a number of databases covering a variety of topics.

Ebsco

America's News

Includes the complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips including The Gazette.

NewsBank

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports

Find product reviews and ratings on thousands of products. Click on the full-text link to search.

Ebsco

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text

This database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of nearly 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 160 journals.

Ebsco

MAS Ultra - School Edition

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Provides full text for over 460 general interest and current events magazines.

Ebsco

MasterFILE Premier

MasterFILE Premier

Provides full text for more than 1,700 periodicals and 500 reference books with coverage dating as far back as 1975 and covering virtually every subject area of general interest.

Tutorials:

Basic Search
http://support.ebsco.com/uploads/CustSupport/UserDocumentation/EN_BscSrc...

Advanced Search
http://support.ebsco.com/uploads/CustSupport/UserDocumentation/EN_AdvSrc...

Ebsco

Microfilm Collection

PPLD's periodical microfilm holdings.

PPLD

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus

Provides full text for over 120 magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and jr. high school students.

Ebsco

National Newspaper Index

Provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.

Gale

Newspaper Archive

Contains tens of millions of historical newspaper pages from 1759 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date.

Heritage Microfilm

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source

Covers 143 U.S. and international newspapers.

Ebsco

Pikes Peak NewsFinder (Local Newspaper Index)

Contains citations to local news articles and obituaries from the Colorado Springs Gazette and other local newspapers.

PPLD

Regional Business News

A full-text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.

Ebsco

Searchasaurus

Searchasaurus

Provides access to children's magazines and reference works, including EBSCO Animals.

Ebsco

TOPICsearch

TOPICsearch

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.

Tutorials:

Basic Search
http://support.ebsco.com/uploads/CustSupport/UserDocumentation/EN_BscSrc...

Advanced Search
http://support.ebsco.com/uploads/CustSupport/UserDocumentation/EN_AdvSrc...

Ebsco